The Dutch Minister of Economic Affairs announced today that he has appointed Mr. Chris Fonteijn as the new Chairman of the College of the Dutch regulatory authority OPTA. Mr. Fonteijn will take up the position on 1 Sep 2005.

The current college consists of Prof. J. Arnbak, Chairman, Ms. L.Y. Gonçalves-Ho Kang You and Mr. H.A. van Karnebeek. All three members of the College will be replaced. Replacements for the two other members will be named in due course.

Professor Arnbak has been Chairman of the College of OPTA since 1997, which makes him one of the longest serving national regulators in the European Union. He was also the first Chairman of the European Regulators Group (ERG).

Mr. Chris Fonteijn (50) is a partner of the law firm NautaDutilh where he heads the Energy and Utilities practice. In his capacity as a lawyer, he was involved with the restructuring of the energy sector in the Netherlands.